Waiting on Wednesday: A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE by Brittany Cavallaro

Check out what book we’re spotlighting this week!

Waiting on Wednesday Theme: Gender-Bending!

she's the man mustache

a study in charlotte coverTitle: A Study in Charlotte
Author: Brittany Cavallaro
Pub Date: March 1, 2016 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins
Amazon: Pre-order here!
B&N: Or here!
Goodreads: Add it to your shelves!

The last thing sixteen-year-old Jamie Watson–writer and great-great-grandson of the John Watson–wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s enigmatic, fiercely independent great-great-granddaughter, who’s inherited not just his genius but also his vices, volatile temperament, and expertly hidden vulnerability. Charlotte has been the object of his fascination for as long as he can remember–but from the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else.

Then a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Holmes stories, and Jamie and Charlotte become the prime suspects. Convinced they’re being framed, they must race against the police to conduct their own investigation. As danger mounts, it becomes clear that nowhere is safe and the only people they can trust are each other.

Equal parts tender, thrilling, and hilarious, A Study in Charlotte is the first in a trilogy brimming with wit and edge-of-the-seat suspense.

I can’t wait for this book! I’ve heard nothing but good things about it from the book world and it seems like a great twist on the classic story of Sherlock Holmes.

I’m sure most of us are fans of the BBC show with Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman, but I’ve lost some of my love for it in the past few years. I haven’t been excited about Sherlock–both the show and the classic, in general–in a long time. That was, until I heard the premise for this! FEMALE SHERLOCK OMG YAY!–I’m so thrilled for it.

sherlock rather fun

Come on, you all knew this was coming, right?

A lot of people seem to get very defensive about how a Sherlock/Watson romance wouldn’t work–regardless of gender–because Sherlock is supposed to be this and Watson is that, but I am a romantic and I will ship almost anything that makes heart eyes, or annoyed eyes, at each other. ‘Tense energy between them’ ‘rivals’… I ship it already. I’m excited to see their dynamic play out, especially because Holmes/Watson are always friendly (I think?) in any reincarnation. I mean they may start out as reluctant allies, but never rivals.

I also love how the cover is kind of like a snapshot of all the detective work. I just imagine it as all the places they’re investigating/suspicious items they find. It’s so intriguing and I could look at it forever.

Are you excited for A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE? Are you a Sherlock Holmes fan?

3 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE by Brittany Cavallaro

  1. Erin @ The Hardcover Lover says:

    I’ve been seeing amazing things about this book! I think it will be interesting to see Sherlock Holmes in a different light. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

