ARC Review: THIS SONG IS (NOT) FOR YOU by Laura Nowlin

Check out what I thought about this YA novel about music, glitter, and love from Laura Nowlin.

this song is not for you coverTitle: This Song is (Not) For You
Author: Laura Nowlin
Release Date: January 5, 2016 from Sourcebooks Fire
Amazon: Order it here!
B&N: Or here!
Goodreads: Add it to your shelves!

Ramona fell for Sam the moment she met him. It was like she had known him forever. He’s one of the few constants in her life, and their friendship is just too important to risk for a kiss. Though she really wants to kiss him…

Sam loves Ramona, but he would never expect her to feel the same way-she’s too quirky and cool for someone like him. Still, they complement each other perfectly, both as best friends and as a band.

Then they meet Tom. Tom makes music too, and he’s the band’s missing piece. The three quickly become inseparable. Except Ramona’s falling in love with Tom. But she hasn’t fallen out of love with Sam either. How can she be true to her feelings without breaking up the band?

Thanks to Netgalley for an e-arc!

I was excited to read this book because I heard there was an asexual main character. Said character is Tom and the parts of this book where he questioned himself and his sexuality were so well written, they broke my heart. I felt for him and wanted to scream at anyone that ever pushed him away once he told them he was ace.

my-babies belle ouat

The other main characters were Ramona and Sam. I had a hard time telling each POV apart because the voice was relatively the same. However, that voice was addicting and made this a fast read.

I got a little restless while reading because I felt this was missing a more developed conflict and plot. My favorite part was Ramona being dead set on this music college and expecting Sam and Tom would want to go too, and they’d be together. However, Tom and Sam aren’t so sure they want to study music, have a career in music, or even go to college at all. I felt like some parts of this subplot were brushed over, which made me sad.

The love triangle is definitely not an over the top, in your face, angsty one. It’s really well done. The resolution is an interesting one, and perhaps unconventional. But you know what, their love is not for you. ūüėČ

Also, how dare The Cure’s Just Like Heaven be considered a secret/guilty pleasure song. It is perfect.

doctor who air guitar

This Song is (Not) For You is a must read for music lovers and glitter enthusiasts that deals with first love and¬†transitioning¬†from high school to college. It is a good¬†book for anyone looking to learn more about asexuality–which should be everyone and will give you feels.¬†

Cover Thoughts
that was awesome

Favorite Quotes [From an ARC & subject to change]

Back then, playing the piano felt like my purpose. Beavers build dams. Bees make honey. Ramona plays piano.

Ramona sighs, and I think it’s for me. Ramona sighs, and I am sinking into the floor as my soul flies up past the ceiling.

“You don’t care. About sex.” She said it like I’d said I didn’t care about curing cancer.

“They’re mean because they’re unhappy, and they’re unhappy cause they’re stuck. They’re stuck because they’re refusing to open their minds, to consider changing the way they live their lives.”

The most important thing is love. “That’s true,” Dad says, his voice quiet again. After a pause he adds. “Though for me it’s novels. Novels are the second most important thing.”

Favorite Character 
I kind of really liked Sam? He was such a romantic.
he's so pretty i want to cry friends

Leave a Reply

