ARC Review: THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE by Heidi Heilig

 

Check out what I thought about Heidi HEILIG’s debut YA novel, THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE.

the girl from everywhere coverTitle: The Girl From Everywhere
Author: Heidi Heilig
Pub Date: February 16, 2016 from HarperCollins Greenwillow Books
Amazon: Pre-order
B&N: Pre-order 
Goodreads: Add the pretty!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Heidi Heilig’s debut teen fantasy sweeps from modern-day New York City to nineteenth-century Hawaii to places of myth and legend. Sixteen-year-old Nix has sailed across the globe and through centuries aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. But when he gambles with her very existence, it all may be about to end. The Girl from Everywhere, the first of two books, will dazzle readers of Sabaa Tahir, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

Nix’s life began in Honolulu in 1868. Since then she has traveled to mythic Scandinavia, a land from the tales of One Thousand and One Nights, modern-day New York City, and many more places both real and imagined. As long as he has a map, Nix’s father can sail his ship, The Temptation, to any place, any time. But now he’s uncovered the one map he’s always sought—1868 Honolulu, before Nix’s mother died in childbirth. Nix’s life—her entire existence—is at stake. No one knows what will happen if her father changes the past. It could erase Nix’s future, her dreams, her adventures . . . her connection with the charming Persian thief, Kash, who’s been part of their crew for two years. If Nix helps her father reunite with the love of his life, it will cost her her own.

In The Girl from Everywhere, Heidi Heilig blends fantasy, history, and a modern sensibility with witty, fast-paced dialogue, breathless adventure, and enchanting romance.

Thanks Brittany for loaning a poor fangirl your ARC.

THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE was one of my most anticipated reads! I first heard about it on QueryShark in June 2014. I was blown away by the concept and knew I had to have this book! Fast forward to now and I finally read it!

The writing is beautiful. It has such a great rhythm and feel to it. It’s so smart, too! So many references to mythology and all sorts of things. I was so happy when I knew one. The worlds were richly drawn with so much love I could feel it. A pet peeve of mine is when New York is written as a caricature or geographic details are off. Not only is New York brought to life here, but so is 1800s Hawaii and ancient China.

The characters! I loved Nix and Kash. They kept me reading besides the gorgeous writing. I want to cuddle them both and squish their faces together.

*insert that Barbossa JUST KISS gif* *searches in vain* *can’t find*

The supporting crew of the Temptation were also a joy. I want all their sass.

owl-fangirl-hearts-happy1

However, there’s one perfect character I’ve left out. SWAG the cutest little sea dragon EVER. Ahhh! He is the real star of this novel. (Spoiler alert: I have a mighty weakness for adorable animals doing adorable things)

girl from everywhere

And now onto the things I wasn’t so swoony over. Sadly. Regrettably. I seriously wanted to love every single second. But this section is still riddled with feels.

-The pacing kind of got away from me in some places, namely in the beginning and end. The middle, though, was pretty amazing. I was totally hooked. The scene where Nix meets Joss for the first time I was so totally in. Every word, I was like, ‘what is this magic.’ So much double meaning and symbolism!

-The semi-love triangle wasn’t my cup of tea. But it is hard to outshine Kash.

kash hot persian thief

Thanks, Heidi! 

I know that Nix wanted to experience something outside of the ship, but why couldn’t she have just made an epic bestie? Friendships are just important as romances and I felt like this was a great opportunity for that.

-I didn’t really feel the stakes throughout (like, logically I knew them cause I was told it, but I wasn’t really shown the threat throughout), nor did I particularly care for the reveal of who the villain was.

I feel like my dislikes of the novel are purely subjective and a lot of other readers will love everything about it. I would recommend it despite my issues with it because everyone deserves to meet Nix and Kash and Swag.

Gorgeous vivid writing, fantastic characters, and a sweeping new world make THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE a book not to miss!

Cover Thoughts
minions fangirling

Favorite Quotes
[Obligatory note about how these come from an ARC, so they may not be the  final version :)]

“It’s wrong.”
“It’s illegal,” he corrected. “There are a lot of things that are illegal but not wrong. And probably more that are wrong, and still legal.”

Unasked for–and unappreciated–my brain reminded me of an Arab proverb: Jealousy is nothing but a fear of being abandoned. 

Everything must come to an end. In every myth, paradise is meant to be lost.

“You expected honor among thieves?”
“It’s more common than honor among gentleman!”

“…And once everyone agrees something is one way, all the other ways it could have been disappear.”

Favorite Character
SWAG FOREVER AND EVER
i live mulan

One thought on “ARC Review: THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE by Heidi Heilig

Leave a Reply

