Waiting on Wednesday: SALT TO THE SEA by Ruta Sepetys

Today we’re Waiting on SALT TO THE SEA, an epic historical fiction novel.

Waiting on Wednesday Theme: Free Day

salt to the sea coverTitle: Salt to the Sea
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Pub Date: February 2, 2016 from Philomel Books
Amazon: Pre-order
B&N: Pre-order 
Goodreads: Add it to your shelves

.

.

.

.

.

The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war’s most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Ruta Sepetys is a phenomenal writer and she takes periods of history and brings them to life. I am so excited for her newest novel, Salt to the Sea! I also adore the title. The alliteration, the sound, the words. I don’t know. I’m weird, okay.

it's art yelling

I read Between Shades of Gray years ago, when it first came out. I didn’t fall in love with it, but the writing was beautiful and I appreciated getting to learn more about a period of history I hadn’t known about. I’d had no clue about the deportations Lithuanians suffered in WW1.

I read Ruta’s next novel Out of the Easy and that is when I became a believer. I loved every second of Out of the Easy. Every word, every character, every second I lived in that book. This time the stakes were less dire, but no less personal. Discovering 1950s New Orleans was fascinating. I heartily recommend this book to everyone.

And now I’m here, waiting for Salt to the Sea. I’m nervous it’ll fall more towards the Shades of Gray spectrum (although for many people, obviously that means they’ll love it), but I’m hopeful that I’ll enjoy it as mush as I did Out of the Easy.

Plus, it has water. It doesn’t take much to hook me when there’s water involved.

water tribe atla

Leave a Reply

