Best Books I Read In: December (And You Should Too!)

Ah, yes, your favorite feature on YABooksGirl is back! Here are my favorite reads of December–and if you haven’t read them yet, I highly Recommend you do!

This is so hard because I read a lot of good stuff in December! I totally made up for a slow November and read a collection of 2015 debuts, 2016 ARCS, and some books pubbed before this year that I’d meaning to get to for awhile. Without further ado….!

sherlock fangirling

an ember in the ashes cover.

You must remember my Friday Reads post (it had Chewie!) back at the end of November that I was reading this. I didn’t finish it until right around finals in December because I had so many term papers to write. I reallyreally enjoyed this. I was sucked in pretty much right from the beginning and really loved both Laia and Elias’ character arcs. I also shipped them so hard, but loved how the romance did not take over the plot. This is a great fantasy with an ancient Roman feel to the world. So many fantasies advertise brutal worlds, but I actually believed this one.

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

.

twenty boy summer cover.

I CRIED. I sobbed big fat ugly tears reading this book in one night. It was not pleasant on my emotions. I’d heard about this book years ago when it came out, but I wasn’t fond of the blurb. I am here to tell you now this is not a book where a girl kisses twenty boys in one summer. That pitch is so deceiving because it is not what happens AT ALL. This book is such a beautiful exploration of grief and friendship and brings California to life through the eyes of a dead boy and the girl mourning him. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

.

carry on cover.

Hello, happiness. This book is not Harry Potter fanfiction, but you can see what inspired it, including every Chosen One story ever. Fantastic characters, great voice, and spot on satire made this a favorite!

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

.

.

.

.

.

And now for three books that you have to put on your radar that are coming out in 2016:

sue excitement

the girl who fell.

I won’t say much about this because I’ll be posting a full review as part of The Girl Who Fell blog tour in January, but prepare yourselves for a story about an abusive relationship and a girl who has to find a way to fight back and reclaim her life and herself. Coming March 2016.

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

.

.

.

.

the crown's game cover.

If you loved The Night Circus, this book is for you. And if you haven’t read The Night Circus, what the hell are you waiting for (it came out in 2011!!)? A beautiful, richly drawn fantasy set in Imperial Russia, a bromance to end all bromances, and MAGIC! May 2016.

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

.

.

.

.

 

blackhearts.

I won’t say anything at all because my review (and a crack!playlist) will be going up on Monday but ohmygodiamdead. This book was perfect. Perfect. February 2016!

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are the best books YOU read in December? Have you read any of these?

One thought on “Best Books I Read In: December (And You Should Too!)

Leave a Reply

