Waiting on Wednesday: MY LADY JANE by Jodi Meadows, Cynthia Hand, and Brodi Ashton

Welcome to the last Waiting on Wednesday of 2015!

Waiting on Wednesday Theme: YA Historical

never-gonna-be-president-now
 I need more ‘historical’ gifs

my lady jane coverTitle: My Lady Jane
Authors: Jodi Meadows, Cynthia Hand, and Brodi Ashton
Pub Date: June 7, 2016 from HarperTeen
Amazon: Pre-order!
B&N: Pre-order!
Goodreads: Add it to your shelves!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

Like that could go wrong.

I love history! I’m a total history nerd, which is why I’m currently studying it in college and love me a good YA historical. I just read Blackhearts (swoony review to come soon!) and it reminded me of my love for a good historical. I read two this year–Under and Painted Sky and This Monstrous Thing–and I’m always eager for another good one. (How many times can I use good in one paragraph?)

Which is why I’m so excited about My Lady Jane. I took a class called The World of Queen Elizabeth three semesters ago. It was fascinating. I’m excited to return to the Tudor era and explore the story of Jane Grey, who I assume most people don’t know about. Plus, pitch anything with The Princess Bride in it and I will perk up. That book and movie are sacred to me.

hahahaha falls down dead princess bride

And, I mean, that cover! There’s so much sass and voice in it, which I didn’t know was possible. if the book is anything like that cover suggests, I’m so ready.

The pitch makes it clear this is totally a re-imagining, which I appreciate. I’m so excited to read whatever ride these three amazing authors have come up with for us. History is so amazing because it’s kind of like a fantasy, transporting us to a world that feels totally foreign, but is actually our own!

Are you excited for MY LADY JANE? Do you enjoy historicals? What’s your favorite?

Leave a Reply

