Friday Reads: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

So you may remember a few months ago when I went to the launch event for Rainbow’s new book. Well… I’m finally reading it!

carry on coverTitle: Carry On
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Amazon: Spell!
B&N: Spell!
Goodreads: Add it to your shelves!

 

.

.

.

.

.

.

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

I made a list last night of everything I want to read over winter break (library books, books I own but haven’t yet read, books I borrow from Brittany) to help make it all manageable (spoiler: it didn’t. It only highlighted what I actually have to read and nearly made me cry) and Carry On was of course on that list. But then a Carry On mood struck. I wanted to read this book and I wanted it now.

So I started.

Holy. jbksnadsfmdgohn.

This book. This book. THIS BOOK.

happy baby

Read it now.

I don’t even know how to talk about it except it’s like Harry Potter but better. It feels like the same world, but fleshed out and made a tad more realistic. Muggles are Normals. Dumbledore is The Mage. I really love all the ways Rainbow has expanded on JK’s world and took certain details or plot points that annoyed me and reinvented them here. I don’t want to give any examples because they are just too perfect and I’d rather you learn them for the first time while reading and discovering this book.

It also reads just like a Rainbow Rowell book! Not a fantasy or retelling. It just has that Rainbow feel to it.

Also, like Ebb, I ship it already.

And Agatha is my new precious cupcake.

If you’re not convinced yet: IT HAS GOATS. Goats are everything.

8 thoughts on “Friday Reads: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

